Thursday, October 16, 2014

St. Lucia: Government Bars Residents of Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia From Entry Re: Ebola

According to The Latin American Tribune, the St. Lucia government announced Wednesday (October 15) that effective immediately, it will no longer allow residents from Ebola-afflicted Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone to enter the country.

Prime Minister Kenny Anthony conveyed the decision to the police commissioner, Vernon François, who is in charge of implementing preventive measures against the Ebola virus, which has killed more than 4,000+ people in West Africa.

“Despite the fact that the President of Nigeria has declared that Nigeria is Ebola-free, visitors from Nigeria will be required to present a recent medical certificate which clears him/her of the virus, in addition to a visa to be allowed entry into Saint Lucia,” the government said.

The PM said his government will continue to monitoring the Ebola outbreak and provide updates to the public.

The prime minister said his administration “has allocated resources to prepare for any possible threat.”

COMMENT: Even though the federal government in the US seemingly doesn't have the wisdom to take preventative measures to safeguard its residents, it is comforting to know that some countries and entities are capable of  affording their residents protection from Ebola.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines have also barred entry to nationals from Sierra Leone, Guinea and Nigeria.

“Because we didn’t consider that we had the infrastructure, necessarily, to deal with an onslaught of people if they were to come from any of those West African countries which we have named specifically,” St. Vincent’s premier, Ralph Gonsalves, said Wednesday.

St. Lucia’s announcement came as health ministers of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) were gathered on the island to discuss regional strategies against the Chikungunya and Ebola viruses.

OECS members are Antigua and Barbuda; Dominica; Grenada; Montserrat; St. Kitts and Nevis; St. Lucia; Anguilla; and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

No comments: